get1

Many students joke about the fact that the verb get can be used everywhere in English. Some even say that when you don’t know how to say something, simply throw it in a sentence and it’ll do it. That’s really funny but unfortunately not true. So here we put together a few examples on how to use the different combinations and uses of such a common and rich verb in English. They’re listed by the correspondent meanings get will take:

arrive at/reach: chegar, ir

I got home late last night. – Cheguei em casa tarde da noite ontem.
We got to the party by taxi. – Fomos à festa de taxi.
Can you get to the roof of the building? – Você consegue chegar no telhado do prédio?

be (as passive auxiliary): ser (na voz passiva)

He got hit by a car. – Ele foi atropelado.
He got transferred to BH. – Ele foi transferido para BH.

become: ficar

It’s getting late. – Está ficando tarde.
We got really tired yesterday. – Ficamos muito cansados ontem.
I’m getting accustomed/used to waking up early everyday hard. – Estou ficando acostumado a acordar cedo todos os dias.

catch (illness, vehicle, thief): pegar

I got a cold. – Eu peguei um resfriado.
I hope you get on a bus before 6 o’clock. – Espero que você consiga pegar um ônibus antes das 6 horas.
The thief ran away but the police got him. – O ladrão fugiu correndo, mas a polícia o pegou.

fetch/pick up: pegar, trazer, buscar

Go and get the letter. – Vá lá e pegue carta.
Would you like me to get you something from the store? – Você quer que eu traga alguma coisa do mercado?

have something done, order something: mandar

He got his car washed. – Ele mandou lavar o carro.
I got my hair cut. – Eu cortei o cabelo. (fui ao cabeleireiro e mandei cortar o cabelo)

have to (obligation, same as need and must): ter que

I’ve got to go now. – Tenho que ir agora.
You’ve got to try again! – Você tem que tentar de novo!

obtain/buy: arranjar, conseguir, comprar

She’s going to get a job after college. – Ela vai conseguir um emprego depois da faculdade. (conseguir, arranjar emprego)
I got a raise! – Eu consegui um aumento! (ganhar, conseguir)
You can get cheap things around rua 25 de Março. – A gente consegue comprar coisas baratas nos arredores da rua 25 de Março.

persuade/convince: convencer

He got his girlfriend to go with him to the soccer game. – Ele convenceu a namorada a acompanhá-lo ao jogo de futebol
I got them to help me with the party preparations. – Consegui convencê-los a me ajudar com os preparativos da festa.

receive: ganhar, receber

She got a great gift for her birthday. – Ela ganhou um presente muito legal no seu aniversário.
I got an e-mail from my former boss. – Recebi um e-mail do meu ex-chefe.

understand: entender

I got it. – Entendi (a piada, o que você quis dizer).
Did you get the idea? – Você entendeu a idéia?
Don’t get me wrong. – Não me interprete mal.

Source: http://blog.cellep.com/do-you-know-how-to-use-the-verb-get/

